Macarons (Recap)

What did I try to do? Make macarons.

Source? Recipes from Annie’s Eats for the shells and How to Cook That with Ann Reardon for the buttercream filling.

Success or failure? Failure…

Did I have fun? Hard question to answer, but I guess. If your definition of fun is:

noun. The struggle and frustration obtained from feeling incompetent and useless when trying to do something for the first time and ending up failing so miserably that the “macarons” you made are basically inedible. (Note that I tweaked this definition to fit the context of me trying to make macarons.)

Read: No, I did not have fun.

OUTCOME

As I mentioned in my previous post, what the f*&# are these?!

Batch #1:

Macarons - Batch #1

Batch #2:

Macarons - Batch #2

Note: Batch #1 and Batch #2 are actually from the same batch because the raw mixture was one and the same, but I played around with the oven temperature and bake time.

Batch #2 vs. Batch #1, bottom:

Macarons - Batch #2 vs. Batch #1

Note: Batch #2 is in the shape of a smiley face not because they turned out better, therefore resulting in a smile, but rather, because I thought it would make me feel a bit better about myself. It did not.

Batch #1 + Batch #2 + Lemon Buttercream Filling:

Macarons - Batch #1 + Batch #2

…so sad…

Macarons - Sad Batch

…slightly less sad?

Macarons - Still Sad

Nope, still the same level of sadness from this angle!

MAIN LESSON LEARNED

Remember that, when your “macarons” don’t turn out as expected, this does not mean you failed. This means you’ve invented a new treat. I call my invention: Flat Sugar Chews™.

TIPS & RECOMMENDATIONS

  • When trying something new, always assume that every worst case scenario will happen.
  • When every worst case scenario does happen, check that no family members or pets are within a 10 metre radius from you before you scream in anger and frustration. My cats wish I had learned this prior to making “macarons”. (Note: 10m is just a benchmark that can be increased if you scream extraordinarily loud.)
  • Macarons really are as difficult to make as people say, especially when you are a prenatal baker such as myself. Make sure you read the recipe/instructions thoroughly and that you understand every word of it before you start. The tactic I used, “winging it”, did not work too well.
  • Unless you’re a master baker, which I presume you’re not since you’re reading this, do not follow a macaron recipe that uses the Italian method. Instead, follow the French method like everyone else. The fact that only one of the almost 10 recipes I looked at used the Italian method should have been an indicator to avoid it.

All in all, I’m glad that I tried to make macarons. Did I enjoy it? No. Did they turn out okay? Not even a little bit. Do I want to do it again? Nope. Never. But you know what? I can now add “Inventor of Flat Sugar Chews™” on my resumé, so that’s something!

3 thoughts on “Macarons (Recap)

Leave a comment